145th International Convention

THEOSOPHY-SCIENCE LECTURE by Ravi Ravindra

THEOSOPHY-SCIENCE LECTURE by Ravi Ravindra

Scientific Research and Spiritual Search

Ravi Ravindra, Professor Emeritus at Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada

The two major needs of our soul are knowledge and meaning. The approach to meeting these two needs is different in scientific research and spiritual search. Scientists approach these questions with strong and creative minds and external observations as they attempt to get more and more accurate inter-subjective knowledge about the laws governing the external universe. This knowledge is expected to be trans-cultural and free of the quality of being of the scientists.

A spiritual searcher is called to quieten the mind, as strongly implied by a remark of HPB, “Mind is the slayer of Truth.” In any spiritual undertaking there is a strong emphasis on impartial and more and more conscious self-study, naturally leading to self-transformation with the ultimate aim of finding one’s unity with the Highest Reality. This is implied in the remark of the Buddha, “Look within, you are the Buddha!”  As spiritual searchers evolve, they naturally develop compassion, love, a sense of service, and a feeling of oneness with everyone.

No serious human being can be uninterested in either scientific knowledge or inner spiritual search.  The call to each one of us is to find the knowledge that gives meaning to our life and assists us to do our part for the welfare of the world.


Date

Dec 29 2020

Time

Timezone Europe/Paris
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Other Time Zones
  • Asia: 10:30 pm Chennai, *1 am Manila, *4 am Sydney, *6 am Auckland
  • Europe/Africa: 5 pm London, 6 pm Paris, 8 pm Nairobi
  • Americas: 9 am Los Angeles, 11 am Chicago, 2 pm Brasilia
  • * : Time is on 30 December

Speaker

  • Ravi Ravindra
    Ravi Ravindra
    Professor Emeritus at Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada

    Ravi Ravindra is a life member of the Theosophical Society. He has taught many courses in the School of the Wisdom in Adyar and in the Krotona School of Theosophy in Ojai, California. He is Professor Emeritus at Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada, where he had taught in three departments– Physics, Philosophy and Comparative Religion. He is the author of many books; among them are Science and the Sacred; Krishnamurti: Two Birds on One Tree; The Wisdom of Patañjali’s Yoga Sutras; The Bhagavad Gita: A Guide to Navigating the Battle of Life. And he is the co-author of Theory of Seismic Head Waves.