145th International Convention

Symposium by Europe/Africa

Symposium by Europe/Africa

Universal Prayer

 

Speakers at the Symposium are

  • Tran-Thi-Kim-Dieu, France
  • Jenny Baker, England
  • Patrick Kafunga, Zambia
  • Janne Vuononvirta, Finland

“From Becoming Aware to Ever Becoming”

Jenny Baker, President of the English Section

The Pilgrim’s search for Truth begins with awareness and leads to the evolving process of Ever Becoming as the Vedic Prayer “Lead me from the unreal to the Real,  Lead me from darkness to Light, Lead me from death to Immortality” is finally fulfilled


Date

Dec 29 2020

Time

Timezone Europe/Paris
10:00 am - 11:00 am
Other Time Zones
  • Asia: 2:30 pm Chennai, 5 pm Manila, 8 pm Sydney, 10 pm Auckland
  • Europe/Africa: 9 pm London, 10 pm Paris, 00 Nairobi
  • Americas: 1 am Los Angeles, 3 am Chicago, 6 am Brasilia

Speakers

  • Janne Vuononvirta
    Janne Vuononvirta
    General Secretary of the Finnish Section

    Janne has been a member of the TS since 2007 and the General Secretary of the Finnish Section since 2018. He is a psychiatrist, a psychotherapist, and a taekwondo instructor. In his life he is interested in bridging science and ageless wisdom and thus aiding people to find balance within themselves.

  • Jenny Baker
    Jenny Baker
    National President of the English Section

    Jenny Baker has been a member of the English Section since 1981. Her working life has been as a nurse and a Yoga instructor and therapist. She was on the National Council as an unattached representative for several years. She also has served on the Executive Committee, the English Theosophical Trust and on the Boards of the Tekels Park Estate and The Foundation for Theosophical Studies. She became the Director of the annual Summer School in 2005, a post she still holds.

    Jenny was elected President of the English section in 2015. She attends General Council meetings at Adyar and is a council member of the International Theosophical Centre in Naarden, the Netherlands. Recently she was appointed onto the Council of the Europe Federation of Theosophical Societies.

    Beyond Theosophy, her interests are rambling in the countryside, photography, classical music, and Scottish country dancing.

  • Patrick Kafunga
    Patrick Kafunga
    Member in Zambia, Central Africa

    (Visual Artist, alternative health practitioner [reflexology & acupressure])

    Member of The Theosophical society in East and Central African Section, Kitwe Lodge in Kitwe, Copperbelt Province, Zambia. Aged  46 years.

    Patrcik joined the TS on the 23rd of September 1999 and is the Kitwe Lodge secretary since 2006.

    He has attended the following local and international conventions:

    2004 centenary celebrations in Pretoria (now Tswane) Republic of South Africa
    2007 Dar-es-salaam Convention Republic of Tanzania
    2011 Kitwe Convention Republic of Zambia
    2013 Nairobi Convention Republic of Kenya
    2015 Dar-es-salaam Convention Republic of Tanzania

    He helped with the preps for the 2003 local Convention at Kitwe which he missed as he had to travel out of the Country.

    Patrick is also involved In mentorship programmes for the youth including those aligned to Kitwe Lodge, offering them free apprenticeships in life skills training such as fine art, sign writing and metal fabrication, both at a personal level and in conjunction with the Visual Arts Council of Zambia.

  • Tran-Thi-Kim-Dieu
    Tran-Thi-Kim-Dieu
    Chairperson of the European Federation of the TS. Living in Paris, France.

    Trân-Thi-Kim-Diêu joined the TS in 1972. She is a post-graduate in Pharmaceutical Technology. Kim-Diêu is Chairperson of the European Federation of the TS and Vice General Secretary of the TS France.

    She has been giving monthly courses at Paris Headquarters since 1987. She has been involved in the work of the European Federation since 1989; she helped to publish several basic theosophical books in various local languages. She re-started the TS activities in Eastern Europe, particularly in Russia and Ukraine.

    She is the former Chairperson of the Naarden International Theosophical Centre in the Netherlands and the former General Secretary of the French Section. She has been a speaker at many summer schools, seminars, and congresses, the European School of Theosophy and the Krotona Institute in Ojai, California. She has conducted several sessions of the School of the Wisdom in Adyar, India. She worked at Adyar’s international HQ for half a year. She has toured lecturing in New Zealand, Singapore, the Philippines, Australia, and Canada.

    Kim-Diêu travels widely in Europe to encourage cooperation and to promulgate the teachings. Her main concern is to promote a new way of living where human beings can be guided by universal ethics and the mystic dimension of consciousness.