145th International Convention

Interviews on Awareness

Interviews on Awareness

Interviewees are:

Antonio Girardi, Italy
Narendra Shah, Kenya
Angels Torra-Buron, Spain
Krista Umbjarv, France

 

Video-tour of ITC Naarden ITC (5 min),

by Damon Scothern

TOS in Europe-Africa (15 min)

Date

Dec 29 2020

Time

Timezone Europe/Paris
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Other Time Zones
  • Asia: 7:30 pm Chennai, 10 pm Manila, *1 am Sydney, *3 am Auckland
  • Europe/Africa: 2 pm London, 3 pm Paris, 5 pm Nairobi
  • Americas: 6 am Los Angeles, 8 am Chicago, 11 am Brasilia
  • * : Time is on 30 December

Speakers

  • Angels Torra-Buron
    Angels Torra-Buron
    General Secretary of the Spanish Seciton

    Angels Torra-Buron was born in Barcelona, Spain, into a Theosophical family in 1952. Professionally, she was a High School teacher for 37 years. She is retired from her job as a teacher, thus dedicating full-time to the Theosophical work. In the Theosophical Society, she was active in the European Federation of Young Theosophists in the 1970s. Later, she was vice-president of the Spanish Section and was a member of the National Executive Committee as well. For a short period, she was a member of the Executive of the European Federation.

    Presently she is the General Secretary of the Spanish Section. In 2017 the 38th European Congress was held in Barcelona, and under her guidance for the arrangements in the Spanish Section, the Congress was a great and memorable event for those who attended.

  • Antonio Girardi
  • Krista Umbjarv
    Krista Umbjarv
    Secretary of the European Federation. Member in France.

    Krista Umbjarv joined the Theosophical Society in 2005, became active in the HPB Lodge in Tallinn, Estonia, where she fulfilled mainly the responsibility of Librarian. She began to lecture in different towns in Estonia in 2006.

    Since 2014 she is a member of the French Section where she works as a volunteer. She also works for the Editions Adyar that publishes theosophical books in the French language and participates actively in the publishing of “Le Lotus Bleu”, the monthly theosophical magazine of the TS in France. Since 2012, she is in the Executive Committee of the European Federation of the TS and currently serves as its Secretary. In 2019, she was elected to the Council of the TS in France and is its Secretary. In 2019, she was also elected to the Council of the International Theosophical Centre Naarden in the Netherlands.

    Krista has been interested in arts, spirituality, religion, and meditation since early age. She believes firmly in the capacity and potential of theosophy, to help people transform themselves with a spirit of openness, understanding, and compassion. For her, any attempt to understand spiritual truths must be accompanied by service.

  • Narendra Shah
    Narendra Shah
    General Secretary of the East & Central African Section

    Narendra Shah was born and brought up in Nairobi, Kenya. He was introduced to the Theosophical Society through the game of Table Tennis. He joined the Theosophical Society in Nairobi in 1971, when he was 17 years old.
    He has been very active in all the activities of the Theosophical Society in Nairobi since 1975 and of the East & Central African Section since 1980. Narendra has been the Chairman of the Nairobi Lodge for several years and currently is the General Secretary of the East & Central African Section.
    A good organizer, Narendra was the Secretary of the 7th World Congress of the Theosophical Society, hosted by Nairobi Lodge in December 1982. He regularly gives talks on various Theosophical subjects and has given talks in all the countries of his Section. Narendra has also actively worked on the Boards of a number of Educational and Social institutions.