145th International Convention

Lecture: The Flame of Awareness

Lecture: The Flame of Awareness

SHORT TALK, with questions & answers afterward

“The Flame of Awareness”

Shikhar Agnihotri, Adyar, India

Awareness is normally understood as knowledge or perception of a situation or fact. But this meaning as per the dictionary does not give us the complete understanding of the various layers of undertones related to the term or the effects that it creates just by being aware without a centre of judgment. Theosophy or the Ageless Wisdom points to this.

How often does it happen that just a small act of care or a word of love or a compassionate look in someone’s eyes changes our whole inner structure of emotions or conditionings? Attention is not merely perception of a situation but it is the action of the highest order which is sometimes called Mindfulness. It is the movement of energy that operates and brings about certain results and this movement of energy, at so many levels, is cyclic in nature. We can see this everywhere in our surroundings, the eternal, ceaseless Motion, which is poetically and esoterically called the “Great Breath”. It is just like a flame that burns the dross.


Date

Dec 27 2020

Time

Timezone Asia/Kalkutta
1:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Other Time Zones
  • Asia: 1:30 pm Chennai, 4 pm Manila, 7 pm Sydney, 9 pm Auckland
  • Europe/Africa: 8 am London, 9 am Paris, 11 am Nairobi
  • Americas: 0 am Los Angeles, 2 am Chicago, 5 am Brasilia

Speaker

  • Shikhar Agnihotri
    Shikhar Agnihotri
    International Lecturer. Member in India

    Bachelor of Science (Nautical Science, Mumbai University)

    Shikhar joined the Theosophical Society in 2008. He is a founder member & former Secretary of both the PRAGYA Lodge and also the MAITRI Group of the Theosophical Order of Service in Lucknow, India. In 2019 he moved to volunteer at the International Headquarters in Adyar, Chennai, where he stays with his family.

    Shikhar is a national lecturer of the Indian Section for the past four years. He has conducted study camps, seminars, youth camps and public lectures on theosophical subjects and holistic health all over India in schools and on colleges. He is also an international lecturer of the TS.

    Together with his wife Catalina, he has started a YouTube channel PRAGYACSSTUDIO to share the understanding of the theosophical teachings in English, Spanish and Hindi.