145th International Convention

BESANT LECTURE

BESANT LECTURE

Vice President of the Republic of the Philippines Leni Robredo will be delivering the Besant Lecture.

Maria Leonor Gerona Robredo is a pro bono lawyer, a public servant, and the 14th Vice President of the Republic of the Philippines.

She has brought the Office of the Vice President closer to people by leading multiple projects for the good of communities.


Date

Dec 28 2020

Time

Timezone America/Chicago
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Other Time Zones
  • Asia: *6:30 am Chennai, *9 am Manila, *12 pm Sydney, 2 pm Auckland
  • Europe/Africa: *1 am London, *2 am Paris, *4 am Nairobi
  • Americas: 6 pm Los Angeles, 9 pm Chicago, 11 pm Brasilia
  • * : Time is on 29 December

Speaker

  • Leni Robredo
    Leni Robredo
    Vice-President of the Republic of the Philippines

    Maria Leonor Gerona Robredo is a pro bono (* lawyer, a public servant, and the 14th Vice President of the Republic of the Philippines. After years of working with the poor and the marginalized, teaching the less fortunate about their rights under the law, Leni, as she is popularly known, emerged into national consciousness following the loss of her husband, long-time Naga City Mayor and Interior Secretary Jesse Robredo. Called upon to carry on his legacy of good governance she stepped into the political arena in 2013, when she was elected as Representative of the Third District of Camarines Sur.

    Amid a productive term in Congress, she was called upon to run for the Vice Presidency, the second-highest post in the country. Ultimately she was elected for that position.

    She has brought the Office of the Vice President closer to people by leading multiple projects for the good of communities.

    Believing in the power of collaboration, and having faith in people, VP Leni vows to keep working to help her fellow Filipinos, especially in the fringes of society.

    *) Pro Bono comes from the Latin expression “pro bono publico” meaning “for the public good”. … Many lawyers provide poor and underprivileged clients with valuable legal advice and support without seeking any professional fee.